It seems every time I write here is to reflect on how poorly I am doing about communicating with God. I should be ashamed, and I am, but I simply keep coming back to the same place. Perhaps this blog helps me to see how my relationship with God is developing. 

But anyway, let's talk about John. As a way to go back to a good relationship with Christ, I have decided to read John (it's the typical recommendation). Some of my favorite passages in the Bible are found in John's account, so going through them again is always a pleasure.

This week someone posted on Facebook an interesting comment regarding the way our church is trying to help believers and non-believers come to a closer relationship with Jesus or to simply meet Him for the first time. This topic interests me as I try to be a good follower of Christ so others can see what Jesus is really all about. But, do I even understand what He is all about?

This question brings me to the third chapter of John. Nicodemus has come looking for Jesus at night so nobody can see where He is going. He is a religious leader and he wants to talk to Jesus? No way! He says, "Rabbi, we know that you are a teacher who has come from God. For no one could perform the signs you are doing if God were not with him" (verse 2). I believe that by "we" he meant "I." Nicodemus recognizes Jesus' authority. This is the first thing we notice when we come to Jesus. His love is such that we cannot understand. It must come from somewhere far away. 

Jesus answers, "Very truly I tell you, no one can see the Kingdom of God unless they are born again" (verse 3).

And we stop right here. We sometimes mock Nicodemus for being one of the great leaders and not understanding this concept. I am obliged to confess I'm not sure I always understand what it means to be born again. I believe sometimes I do, and sometimes I just don't. 

What do you think? Do we really understand what this is about?

Jesus answered, "Very truly I tell you, no one can enter the kingdom of God unless they are born of water and the Spirit. Flesh gives birth to flesh, but the Spirit gives birth to spirit. You should not be surprised at my saying, 'You must be born again.' The wind blows wherever it pleases. You hear its sound, but you cannot tell where it comes from or where it is going. So it is with everyone born of the Spirit" (verses 5-8).



Leave a Reply.